account arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right closecontact-us emailFacebookheart instagramjoin linkedin phonepinterestplaysearch twitteryoutube

The Vivian Bulkeley-Johnson Salt

Criteria: For the person or organisation who, in the opinion of trustees, upon a recommendation from IWA’s Inland Waterways Freight Group, has made an outstanding contribution to the furtherance of commercial waterways transport in the United Kingdom.

Past Winners:

1993 David Shepherd (Cawood Hargreaves)
1994 Alan C Bennett & Sons
1995 Fred Andrews
1996 John Pomfret
1997 – 1998 (not awarded)
1999 Professor Donald McDowell
2000 John Dean
2001 Lafarge Aggregates
2002 David Lowe
2003 (not awarded)
2004 J.J. Prior
2005 – 7 (not awarded)
2008 Seaborn Container Line
2009 Jerry Heward of Wood, Hall & Heward
2010 John Branford
2011 – 12 (not awarded)
2013 S Walsh & Sons Ltd
2014 – 22 (not awarded)
2023 John Spencer (GPS Marine)

[The photo shows loading timber on Marlin at Ardrisaig by the Crinan Canal]

Find out about details of other awards on the National Awards page.