account arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right closecontact-us emailFacebookheart instagramjoin linkedin phonepinterestplaysearch twitteryoutube

IWA National Committees and Panels – Who’s Who

Trustees – see the biographies for each trustee

Les Etheridge – chair
Robert Atkins
John Butler
Dave Chapman
Nick Dybeck – deputy chair
Rebecca Hughes
Hannah Sterritt
Sue O’Hare – deputy chair

Canalway Cavalcade Committee

Tom Claydon – chair
Libby Bradshaw
John Fevyer
Pete Fleming
Emma Greenall
Malcolm Hasler
John Minns
Geoff Moody
Mike Moore
Mike Newman
Alan Robertson
Christine Smith – deputy chair
Peter Stanley
Roger Stocker

Nick Coolican-Smith – corresponding member
Craig Haslam – corresponding member
Dorothy Robbie – corresponding member
Roger Squires – corresponding member
Amy Tillson – corresponding member

Events Committee

Jane Elwell – chair
John Butler
Peter Carter
Mike Elwell
Dave Hearnden
Maria Hearnden
Chris Jennings
Christine Kemp
Mike Moorse
Christine Smith

David Venn – corresponding member

Finance Committee

John Butler – chair
David Carrington
Mike Dyer
Nick Parker
David Rowe

Les Etheridge – corresponding member
Mike Palmer – corresponding member

Heritage Advisory Panel

Ivor Caplan
Nigel Crowe
Derek Humphries – Heritage Officer for IWA London Region
Nicki Schiessel Harvey
Ian Sesnan

Navigation Committee

Sue O’Hare – chair
Robert Atkins – North West Region nominee
Andrew Shephard – East Midlands Region nominee
Ivor Caplan – deputy chair
Richard Davies – Scotland representative
Ian Fletcher – West Midlands Region nominee
Jonathan Mosse – Deputy Scotland representative
John Pomfret – deputy chair
Alison Smedley
Verna Smith – South East Region nominee
David Struckett
Paul Strudwick – London Region nominee
Andy Wedgbury – Angling representative
Vacancy – Eastern Region nominee
Vacancy – North East & Yorkshire Region nominee

Bowman Bradley – corresponding member – IWA representative to Boat Safety Scheme Advisory Committee
John Reeve – corresponding member
Phil Sharpe – corresponding member
David Stevenson – corresponding member
Roger Stocker – corresponding member
Roy Sutton – corresponding member
Adam Wylie – corresponding member – IWA nominee to Boat Safety Scheme Technical Committee

Planning Advisory Panel

Bob Dewey MRTPI: IWA Honorary Consultant Planner
Ed Gittins FRTPI: IWA Honorary Consultant Planner
Barry Juniper MRTPI(rtd): Former Planning Officer and Planning Inspector
Dr Ian Sesnan: BA(Hons), MA(Dist), FRSA
Phil Sharpe BSc. C.Geol. FGS: Planning Officer : IWA Lichfield Branch

Region Chairs

Robert Atkins – North West Region
Roger Francis – South West & South Wales Region
David Pullen – East Midlands Region
Verna Smith – South East Region
Paul Strudwick – London Region
Helen Whitehouse – West Midlands Region
Vacancy – Eastern Region
Vacancy – North East & Yorkshire Region

Remuneration Committee

Les Etheridge – Ex-officio as national chair
John Butler – Ex-officio as national treasurer
Jonathan Smith – Ex-officio as chief executive except for own salary
Mike Dyer (member of Finance Committee)
Hannah Sterritt (trustee)

Volunteer Awards Panel

Audrey Smith – chair
John Pomfret
Verna Smith

Waterway Recovery Group Board

Mike Palmer – chair
Rick Barnes
George Eycott
Helen Gardner
Emma Greenall
John Hawkins
Dave Hearnden
Nigel Lee
George Rogers
Jonathan Smith – deputy chair
Harry Watts

Essex Waterways Ltd – Board of Directors

Roy Chandler – chair
David Carrington
Colin Edmond
Neil Edwards – also company secretary
Craig Holliday
Jim Jenkins
John Pomfret
David Smart

(Listing updated 1st August 2022)