account arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right closecontact-us emailFacebookheart instagramjoin linkedin phonepinterestplaysearch twitteryoutube

Richard Bird Medals

Criteria: For members of the Association whose efforts and support are considered to have brought significant benefit to the Association over a sustained period.  From 2013 onwards, no more than six medals are likely to be awarded in any one year.

Past Winners:

2000 Ian Dempster, Martin Ludgate, Millie and Pat Osborn, Ron and Barbara Reid, Ben Williams.
2001 Sheila Davenport, John Gagg, Eileen and Ian Gall, Ian Graham, Robin Higgs, Barbara Rees, David J V Smith, David M Smith.
2002 Ron Bingham, Peter Duggan, Dave Moore, John Norris, Eric and Mildred Sadler, Michael Stimpson.
2003 Harry Arnold, Peter and Lesley Cardy, Margaret Clegg, Chris and Helen Davey, David and Heather Howarth, Michael Limbrey, Rosie Liming, Peter Oates, Ernie Pull and Pete Stockdale.
2004 Hugh Ballantyne, Libby Bradshaw, Rob Davies, Don Evans, Don Hair, Rodney Hardwick, Brian Kingshott, Nigel Long, Jack Staziker, Mike Stevens and Chard Wadley.
2005 Dave Carnell, Ron Cousens, John Fevyer, Derek Payne, Colin Ward, Helen Whitehouse and Eric Wood.
2006 June Stevenson, Theo Brown, Jean Hall, Joy Yeates, Peter Boyce, Margaret Pitney, John Russell, and Bill and Kay Sinclair.
2007 Jack Maiden and Ken Nelson.
2008 Stanley Holland, Ian Thompson, Marian Stearman, Arthur Page, David King, Fred Andrews, Philip Ogden, Pat Pritchard and Keith Gibson.
2009 Malcolm Fielding, David and Nancy Johnson, Les Franklin and David Harman.

[Photo: Clive Henderson – third from left – with some of the medal winners in 2012]

2010 Michael and Greta Wright, Dr Michael Essex-Lopresti, Denis and Janet Farmer, Ruth Symonds, Roy and Lois Parker, Graham Whorton and John Ashley.
2011 Ray Carnell, Roger Hasdell, Ron and Mary Heritage, John Moss, Max Sinclair, Brian and Brenda Ward.
2012 Pat Barton, Brian Bayston, Beryl and Dave Chapman, Bob and Liz Dewey, Dave and Sandy Jones, Di and Reece Jones, Anne and Bob Myall, Ron Probert, Stephen Scholes, Edwina Wallace and Alan Wiffen.
2013 Roy Cleverly, Mick and Carole Golds, John Stockland and Margaret Beardsmore, John Brice, and The Canal Cruising Company of Stone.
2014 Christopher Skelhorne, Ron Evans, Philip Sharpe, Roger Savage and Gillian Bolt.
2015 Madeline Dean, Derek Bradley, Roger Evans and David Lowe
2016 Barry Robins, Graham Treagus and Wendy Humphreys
2017 Janet Dunning, Tony Dunning and Lynda Payton
2018 Peter Bowers, Roger Mungham, Lesley Taylor and Roger Wilkinson
2019 Mick Butler, Steve Connolly, David Faulkner, Pete Gurney, Ian MacDonald, Roger Sexton and Geoff Woods
2020 Colin Bird, Robin Bishop, Adrian Sturgess, David Venn and Jack Wooton
2021 (not awarded)
2022 David Carrington, Jane Elwell, Mike Elwell, John Hawkins, Sue Schweiso and Mike Slade
2023 Dave Pearson and Alan Smith

[Photo: Lesley Taylor (right) receiving a Richard Bird Medal from Ivor Caplan at the 2018 AGM]

Find out about details of other awards on the National Awards page.