account arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right closecontact-us emailFacebookheart instagramjoin linkedin phonepinterestplaysearch twitteryoutube

The Christopher Power Prize

Criteria: For a person, society or trust who has made the most significant contribution to the restoration of an inland waterway.  There is a cash prize associated with this award, which is given to the waterway restoration group associated with the winner, where the winner is a named individual.  The aims and objectives of the group must be consistent with IWA’s aims and objectives.

Past Winners:

1993 Brian Holden, Rochdale Canal Society
1994 IWA Chelmsford Branch
1995 Chesterfield Canal Society
1996 IWA Ipswich Branch
1997 Wey & Arun Canal Trust
1998 Montgomery Waterway Restoration Trust
1999 Wilts & Berks Canal Trust / Droitwich Canals Trust (joint)
2000 Inland Waterways Protection Society
2001 Adrian Fry (WRG)
2002 Roger Leishman and Wendover Arm Trust
2003 Monmouthshire, Brecon and Abergavenny Canals Trust
2004 Caldon Canal Society
2005 Grantham Canal Restoration Society
2006 (not awarded)
2007 (not awarded)
2008 Cotswold Canals Trust
2009 (not awarded)
2010 Shropshire Union Canal Society and Colin Turner (IWA Ipswich / River Gipping Trust)
2011 John Nuttall (cash prize to Chesterfield Canal Trust)
2012 Roger Harding (cash prize to Stover Canal Society)
2013 Bernie Jones (Shrewsbury & Newport Canals)
2014 Lichfield & Hatherton Canals Restoration Trust
2015 Michael Limbrey, Montgomery Waterway Restoration Trust
2016 Richard Dommett, Monmouthshire, Brecon & Abergavenny Canals Trust
2017 (not awarded)
2018 Cotswold Canals Trust
2019 Roger Leishman and Wendover Arm Trust
2020 Athina Beckett (Buckingham Canal Society)
2021 (not awarded)
2022 Terry Cavender (Buckingham Canal Society)
2023 John Dodwell (Montgomery Waterway Restoration Trust)

[The photo shows the award to Richard Dommett – 4th from the left – in 2016]

This trophy has been combined with the following three former waterway awards:

(a) Kenneth Goodwin Trophy (formerly presented to the trust or society engaged in the restoration of a waterway or associated structure that had made the most significant progress in achieving its objective during the previous year.

1993 IWA Chelmsford Branch
1994 Chesterfield Canal Society
1995 Barnsley Canal Group
1996 Herefordshire & Gloucestershire Canal Trust
1997 Inland Waterways Protection Society (for Bugsworth Basin)
1998 (not awarded)
1999 Huddersfield Canal Society
2000 (not awarded)
2001 Lichfield & Hatherton Canals Restoration Trust
2002 Droitwich Canals Trust
2003 Wey & Arun Canal Trust
2004 Chesterfield Canal Trust
2005 (not awarded)

(b) Waterways Companion Award (formerly awarded to the local authority of similar public body that had provided the most significant assistance – advice, physical or financial – to an IWA branch, canal society or trust in progressing a waterways restoration scheme.

1993 Central Manchester Development Corporation
1994 Richard Thurlow, Mid Suffolk District Council
1995 Calderdale MBC / A Taylor, M Saker, D Booth (for Rochdale Canal)
1996 Rotherham MBC / Dave Wood (for Chesterfield Canal)
1997 Gloucestershire County Council (for Cotswolds Canals)
1998 (not awarded)
1999 Leicestershire County Council / Geoff Pursglove & Peter Williams (for Ashby Canal) 2000 Alastair McNeill / South Lakeland DC (for Lancaster Canal, Northern Reaches)
2001 Tony Harmsworth / Basingstoke Canal Authority
2002 (not awarded)
2003 Mary Powell / Lincolnshire Development
2004 Derbyshire County Council
2005 Geoffrey Pursglove / Leicestershire County Council

(c) IWA Volvo Penta Award (previously awarded to the individual or organisation making an outstanding contribution to environmental conservation on the inland waterways.

1990 Kennet & Avon Canal Trust and British Waterways
1991 London Borough of Newham and Kesslers International Ltd
1992 Peter White MBE (Chief Architect, British Waterways)
1993 T Harrison Chaplin Ltd (Riparian Owner Service)
1994 Waterway Recovery Group
1997 Erewash Canal Preservation & Development Assn
1998 – 2005 (not awarded)
2006 Stephen Lees (Montgomery Canal)

[The photo shows Bridge 1 on the Buckingham Arm – members of Buckingham Canal Society have won the award twice in recent years]

Find out about details of other awards on the National Awards page.