20 May 2022

Hundreds of volunteers give their time to support the waterways through IWA and each year a number are nominated and presented with IWA’s national awards. It is one of the ways in which we recognise the amazing work carried out by our supporters throughout the year, and over longer periods of time too.

Nominations are invited from members, branches and regions and should be emailed to or posted to the Awards Panel c/o Head Office, Island House, Moor Road, Chesham, HP5 1WA by 30th June 2022. Please provide us with a brief but fairly detailed summary of the nominee’s commitments/achievements – bullet points will suffice if you prefer


  • Cyril Styring Trophy: This is the Association’s premier award and is presented to a member who has made an outstanding contribution to our campaigns.
  • John Heap Salver: The Association’s major fundraising award, is given to an IWA member who has made an outstanding contribution to raising funds for the Association.
  • Christopher Power Prize: This prize is given to the person, society or trust who has made the most significant contribution to the restoration on an amenity waterways.
  • Richard Bird Medals: These medals are presented to members whose efforts and support are considered to have brought considerable benefit to the Association over a sustained period.