28 September 2020

Following a recruitment drive amongst IWA’s membership, five new trustees were announced at the Association’s AGM on Saturday 26th September. Earlier this year IWA notified its supporters of a change to the way that trustees would be chosen, moving from a membership election model to panel selection.

Dave Chapman, IWA Deputy Chair, who led the recruitment process said,

In our 75th year, and with plans to influence the regeneration of our waterways for many years to come, and several trustee vacancies to fill, we felt a new approach was needed.  The Trustees concluded that a more diverse board, with a wider range of identified skills, experience and perspectives was required to ensure the most effective delivery of IWA’s objectives”.   

The new trustees have been named as Alison Woodhams, Nick Dybeck, Philippa Bursey, Ian Sesnan and Sue O’Hare who between them bring professional experience in Accounting, Planning, HR, Engineering and new technology as well as senior volunteer experience from a breadth of charities and membership organisations.   The sixth vacancy was filled by IWA Chairman, Paul Rodgers, who following selection by the panel returns for a second term as trustee.  All six trustees will now serve for a three year term.    

Special thanks were extended during the AGM for retiring trustees Paul Strudwick and Ray Carter who had both completed a maximum 12 year term as trustee and to Verna Smith, IWA South East Region Chair, Mike Palmer, Waterway Recovery Group Chairman and Chris Howes who stood down as trustee earlier in the year.